2020 Young Writers’ Competition February 17, 2020 - June 5, 2020

The Lockwood-Mathews Mansion Museum will launch its seventh annual Young Writers’ Competition on February 17, 2020. The competition titled, What in The Mansion is This?, will end on June 5, 2020 with an awards ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 22, 2020. The competition is open to all third-eighth grade students in the Tri-state area.

Ten rare and/or unusual artifacts will be part of this year’s Young Writers’ Competition. Students must identify these unfamiliar objects from LMMM’s permanent collection by providing detailed descriptions and historical research or by writing a fictional story on some of the objects correctly identified. Winners will be chosen based on 1) correct identification, research and most well-written description of the objects; or 2) most well-written, fictional story based on the correct identification and research on the objects. All descriptions must be in keeping with the historical period that the objects belong to.

The stories will be picked up from contestants and their teachers on Friday, June 5 and competition winners will be notified by mid-September.  Competition winners and their families will be Guests of Honor at the Awards Ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 22, 2020, 2-4 p.m.

Requirements and Guidelines:  Grades 3-5   Grades 6-8

For more information on LMMM’s Young Writers’ Competition, school tours and to send submissions please contact Education Program Director Iliana Begetis or Education Coordinator Charles Hill, 203-838-9799, ext. 6, or email: education@lockwoodmathewsmansion.com.

The Museum’s 2020 cultural and educational programs are made possible in part by generous funding from LMMM’s Founding Patrons: The Estate of Mrs. Cynthia Clark Brown; LMMM’s Leadership Patrons: The Sealark Foundation; LMMM’s 2020 Season Distinguished Benefactors: The City of Norwalk and The Maurice Goodman Foundation; LMMM’s 2020 Distinguished Benefactors for Education: The Daphne Seybolt Culpeper Memorial Foundation, Inc.

LMMM Education Docent Val Penstone with students from Columbus Elementary in Bridgeport; Photography: Gus Apazidis
2019 Young Writers’ Award Ceremony: from left, bottom row: Norwalk BOE Member Sherelle Harris, 2019 YWC Winners Ava Ryen (Norwalk), Ruby Rice (Norwalk), Alessandra Tuccillo (Fairfield) and Mia Belter, (Norwalk), Norwalk First Lady Lucia Rilling and LMMM Chairman of the Board Patsy R. Brescia. From left, top row: LMMM Education Program Director Iliana Begetis, Senator Bob Duff and Norwalk BOE member Barbara Meyer-Mitchell; Photography: Alex Rosenfeld Photography